GPWA
Welcome, Guest  [Log In -or- Join GPWA]
  Advanced Search

 

  #1 (permalink)  
Old 24th-January-2002, 07:55 AM
21gamble Offline
Public Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to 21gamble Send a message via MSN to 21gamble
Default 21 Gamble

To 21gamble:

I noticed that your strategy pages have been copied directly from thewizardofodds.com without any credit given.

I have contacted Michael Shackleford for conformation that he has given you permission. If he has granted permission then I will replace your post.
Reply With Quote

  #2 (permalink)  
Old 24th-January-2002, 12:17 PM
croupier Offline
Public Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 3,101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I just got a reply from Michael.

You did not have permission to copy&paste his strategy pages - this is simple copyright theft.

Please do not return to the GPWA.
Reply With Quote

  #3 (permalink)  
Old 25th-January-2002, 03:27 AM
21gamble Offline
Public Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to 21gamble Send a message via MSN to 21gamble
Default ATTENTION WEBMASTER - GPWA

I have email wizard of odds about this matter and here is my answer.

I did not steal any content from his site. I had actualy purchased the content from a 3rd party source and I had trusted that they would provide me with unique content.

I have disabled the link on my site until I gather some new gaming content, I may not even have a gaming tips after this little proble.

I may work on a search engine, at least then I can approve everything that goes in it!.

I meant no harm or disrespect to either of your sites.

Webmaster@21gamble.com
Reply With Quote

  #4 (permalink)  
Old 25th-January-2002, 05:47 AM
croupier Offline
Public Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 3,101
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you for removing the wizards content.

I have seen this happen in the past, it is a lesson that many people buying websites have had to learn the hard way. At least you were honarable enough to remove the content.

The wizard does allow re-printing of some of his content as long as you seek permission and give him the credit he deserves along with an active link to his site. Maybe if you explained your problem he might reconsider allowing some of his content to be re-printed.

It would also be useful to all webmasters if you could give us a name or URL of the person you bought the site design from. This might prevent others from falling into the same trap.

If you, or anyone reading this, ever buys a site then you should check the content in google. It's not guranteed, but you will probably find any other sites with the same material - if the content has been stolen.

You've had a bad start in the business, I hope things go better in the furture.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:43 AM.
Mark Forums Read | View Forum Leaders

 Contact Us  |  Top