Notices

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. ScoresSportsbook is offline New Member
    Join Date
    September 2003
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Cyber Squatter question?

    Hello, My name is Steve Scores and I have had the domain http://www.ScoresSportsbook.com for three years with no problem. Today I get this email and I would like to know what you would do?


    Hello Steve,

    One of our clients known as http://www.ScoreSportsbook.com has made several complaints that a domain under scoressportsbook.com has been cyber squatted, and your name comes up in the whois.

    We expect this issue to be resolved swiftly, since this is by law and in all definitions 'cybersquatting' and not a generic term.

    Feel free to phone me should you need to discuss this further, and we are willing to reimburse the domain holder of scoressportsbook.com up to $100. We expect this issue to be resolved by Thursday 18th of September at 9am EST.


    t. 1.800 525 xxxx
    e. xxxxx@xxxxxmarketing.com
    u. www.--------marketing.com
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  2. SlyCin56 is offline Founder
    Join Date
    December 1969
    Posts
    21,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    First, I'd find out who owned the domain first - you or them? If they did, I'd probably find an attorney to talk to about this. :-? If your last name is really Scores, you might have a fighting chance, even if they had it first.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  3. universal4's Avatar
    universal4 is online now Security/Membership Team
    Join Date
    July 2003
    Location
    Sinking Faster, just when I thought it couldn't get worse it did!
    Posts
    13,658
    Thanks
    182
    Thanked 2,171 Times in 1,504 Posts

    The term as I have understood it was normally used in an attempt to show that someone bought a domain name for the express purpose of sitting (or squatting) on the domain name to later then sell it to a corporate identity for a profit.

    I read through some forums that discussed this a little bit about 6 months ago for a client, so I am sure you can get a good bit of information about this issue.

    I know that if the domain name was in fact concieved partially because of your last name, that should give you a boost. Also, if you had actually "developed" the site 3 years ago and it didn't just sat parked in a name server, this also would give you much more right to keep it.

    I do not believe whether the site had well optimized pages, or that it actually turned a profit would matter.

    Like Cindy said, in addition to the web research, you may very well need to discuss this with an attorney.

    Rick
    Universal4
    Gambling World Online Roulette Online Blackjack Live Online Games Sports Betting Horse Racing
    Casino Affiliate Programs
    Hosting and Domain Names
    Gambling Industry Association
    GPWA Moderation by Me and My Big Bad Security Self
    If an affiliate program is not small affiliate friendly (especially small US Affiliate), then they are NOT Affiliate Friendly!
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  4. SlyCin56 is offline Founder
    Join Date
    December 1969
    Posts
    21,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Actually, now that I'm reading that letter again (something Universal said triggered this), I think that letter is BS. Universal is right about the definition of cybersquatting, although it gets used erroneously quite a bit.

    WHY would a marketing company write you about cybersquatting - on "behalf" of one of their clients? Letters about issues like this usually come from the complaining domain and/or their attorneys. Certainly not any marketing companies that they work with.

    And the offer to "compensate" you $100 for your domain?? I think this is an underhanded and cheap trick to try to get you to sell your domain to them. Unbelievable. :shake: Please tell us who this marketing company is - things like this need to be exposed!!
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  5. poker is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    June 2003
    Posts
    205
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Hmm I'm not aware of US laws or anything but I'd only trust complaints about this if a name is provided as a contact at the sportsbook in question.

    /Chris

    www.onlinepokerlinks.com
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  6. croupier is offline Public Member
    Join Date
    December 1969
    Posts
    3,101
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    The first thing you need to do is enter the correct info into whois for your domain. Currently it's got n/a in most of it, which means you could lose it at any time.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  7. SlyCin56 is offline Founder
    Join Date
    December 1969
    Posts
    21,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    And yet the letter says his "name came up in WhoIs"??? Something's wrong with this pic.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  8. emg35 is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    April 2003
    Location
    Ca.
    Posts
    328
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Make them show you the trade mark papers. I had this happen about a year ago. Golden Palace told me they owned the trade mark for gpcasino.com. I won out in the end.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  9. universal4's Avatar
    universal4 is online now Security/Membership Team
    Join Date
    July 2003
    Location
    Sinking Faster, just when I thought it couldn't get worse it did!
    Posts
    13,658
    Thanks
    182
    Thanked 2,171 Times in 1,504 Posts

    Please keep us all informed of the outcome of any of this...

    Rick
    Universal4
    Gambling World Online Roulette Online Blackjack Live Online Games Sports Betting Horse Racing
    Casino Affiliate Programs
    Hosting and Domain Names
    Gambling Industry Association
    GPWA Moderation by Me and My Big Bad Security Self
    If an affiliate program is not small affiliate friendly (especially small US Affiliate), then they are NOT Affiliate Friendly!
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  10. ScoresSportsbook is offline New Member
    Join Date
    September 2003
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    I called them this morning and worked out a deal, I keep the domain, join there affiliate program, and forward my traffic to them. Sounds like a win/win for the both of us.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  11. SlyCin56 is offline Founder
    Join Date
    December 1969
    Posts
    21,912
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Sorry - something still doesn't sound right there.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  12. universal4's Avatar
    universal4 is online now Security/Membership Team
    Join Date
    July 2003
    Location
    Sinking Faster, just when I thought it couldn't get worse it did!
    Posts
    13,658
    Thanks
    182
    Thanked 2,171 Times in 1,504 Posts

    If you have had the domain for 3 years, you have owned it a year longer than they have owned theirs....

    I would only send them traffic based upon the merits of their affiliate program....and only a portion of the traffic from a portal and not just GIVE them all of it....

    Just my opinion...they may turn out to pay you well....but after what they tried...well....you need to make a judgement call on that one...

    Rick
    Universal4
    Gambling World Online Roulette Online Blackjack Live Online Games Sports Betting Horse Racing
    Casino Affiliate Programs
    Hosting and Domain Names
    Gambling Industry Association
    GPWA Moderation by Me and My Big Bad Security Self
    If an affiliate program is not small affiliate friendly (especially small US Affiliate), then they are NOT Affiliate Friendly!
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

  13. Ace Fun is offline Public Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    307
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    It depends how important the name is to you. I think they show a tendency to deceit so they will probably shave your payments.

    I'd tell them to poke their offer and say that you want $1,500 compensation for loss of business if you think that is a reasonable amount. I would also point out that Verisign have now created a precedent by displaying advertising on around 30 million names many of which include trade marks.
    Reply With Quote Reply With Quote  

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts