GPWA
Welcome, Guest  [Log In -or- Join GPWA]
  Advanced Search

 

  #1 (permalink)  
Old 5th-December-2004, 02:44 PM
rainynite Offline
Public Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Idaho
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default G.P.W.A. stand on Scumware now?

Just a question. How do you feel about portal owners using preditory adveritising such as Ezula? Do you consider Ezula (toptext) preditory? I feel that it is and it's currently being used by one affiliate against most of the members here. I actually downloaded toptext to see who, besides myself was being targeted and to my surprise even this forum has toptext on the words Gambling Portal. The person doing this was a member of this forum. I'm not sure if they still are or not. So do you think these practices are legit? I noticed toptext added a disclaimer on the link stating "This advertisement is provided by TopText/EARN and not by the website you are viewing." I still feel like this is stealing our hard earned and much paid for traffic. Any thoughts?

Rainy
Reply With Quote

  #2 (permalink)  
Old 5th-December-2004, 03:45 PM
casinoglen's Avatar
casinoglen Offline
GPWA Caretaker Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 3,685
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Any advertising that directly infringes upon the work of others, ie, targets another website with their advertising is scumware.

I don't care if it's text, or a banner, or a popup. If someone makes it to my site, your site, or any other related website, and someone pops an ad off of it, that's scumware.

I will say right now, that GPWA is make movements in regards to certain things, and we will revitalize the scumware movement as well. It is my intention to work on things one or even two at a time, so as to not be fighting on all fronts at the same time, but rest assured these will be brought up.
Reply With Quote

  #3 (permalink)  
Old 5th-December-2004, 04:34 PM
rainynite Offline
Public Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Idaho
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the quick reply.

That's exactly how I feel too. It's so frustrating that this is going on and there isn't anything we can do about it.

In my research it seems like one affiliate and a couple of casinos that are doing the majority of it. One cof the casinos, I was promoting and after I found this out I'm in the process of removing their links from my sites.

If there is anything I can do on an individual level to try and help in the fight against scumware just let me know.
Reply With Quote

  #4 (permalink)  
Old 6th-December-2004, 08:25 AM
kidd75219's Avatar
kidd75219 Offline
Private Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Cedar Park, TX USA
Posts: 3,263
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Who is the one affiliate and what are the two casinos?
__________________
Randall Ashby (Randy)

Easy Money Casinos
Reply With Quote

  #5 (permalink)  
Old 6th-December-2004, 04:12 PM
rainynite Offline
Public Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Idaho
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Randy,

Well, the casinos are Golden Palace and Blast 21. I checked your site to see if there were any toptext links on yours and yours luckily is completely clean. Your partner sites aren't so lucky. On there I also found Casino On Net and Jackpot.com.

The affiliate who's links are on GPWA forum site, my sites, on your partner sites and on the majority of the sites listed here redirects to freecasinocash.net

I'm not sure exactly how the program works. I couldn't tell if the casino redirects have affiliate links attached to them or not. I can tell you that downloading the ezula program puts about 300 spyware files on your computer and it's a pain to get rid of it. So if anyone wants to see without downloading it I saved some screen prints.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:53 PM.
Mark Forums Read | View Forum Leaders

 Contact Us  |  Top