GPWA
Welcome, Guest  [Log In -or- Join GPWA]
  Advanced Search

 

  #1 (permalink)  
Old 19th-March-2008, 12:18 AM
mojo's Avatar
mojo Offline
Private Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,633
Thanks: 168
Thanked 136 Times in 109 Posts
Default Mecca Hosting

I tried this hosting service. I was disturbed to learn that they have a practice of changing your url to their own without your knowledge or permission. This is done so that their site piggybacks on yours. Consider all the sites they do this to that they host. It makes their site much bigger naturally. Note it is targeted to google. My bad was that I didn't remember the adage "you get what you pay for". I was out of there as fast as I could.

Once they changed my url, there were certain elements that wouldn't show up for visitors (the gpwa seal for example). Google picked it up and as we all know it takes a bit to recover on its own, once I got rid of it. Damage was done.

I'm posting this in hopes that anyone considering a hosting service use a trusted and true host, recommended by someone you trust. Never pick a random server like I did!
Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to mojo For This Useful Post:
Chips (19th-March-2008), greek39 (19th-March-2008), Nandakishore (21st-March-2008), Paolino (21st-March-2008)

  #2 (permalink)  
Old 19th-March-2008, 12:39 AM
Chips's Avatar
Chips Offline
Private Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Chesterfield Virginia USA
Posts: 286
Thanks: 53
Thanked 27 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Thanks Mojo for keeping us informed of this nasty host, I hope you recover quickly.
__________________
-Slots of Casinos
-Poker Player US
-Poker Player US Forum
-Facebook
--
"Frequently, the difference between success and failure is the resolve to stick to your plan long enough to win." --David Cottrell
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Chips For This Useful Post:
mojo (20th-March-2008)

  #3 (permalink)  
Old 19th-March-2008, 09:59 PM
greek39 Offline
Private Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,332
Thanks: 269
Thanked 157 Times in 117 Posts
Thumbs down

MeccaHosting buyers beware perhaps an understatement. In my wildest dreams never figured a hosting company would Domain Mangle. EG. Your domain/url before mydomain.com after MeccaHosting is done zeus.meccahosting.com/~a0004f6d/ But it doesn’t end here. Even when the domain holder disengages from Mecca the garbage continues. Negative seo or call it Google bowling occurs on a scale beyond any honest businesspersons wildest dreams. Shocked and downright dirty, the only beneficiaries are MeccaHosting themselves. Buyer beware, if you spent countless hours developing your website MeccaHosting is not for you. All Smoke and Mirrors SAAS here is the complaint. Thanks greek39
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to greek39 For This Useful Post:
mojo (19th-March-2008)

  #4 (permalink)  
Old 20th-March-2008, 09:17 PM
mojo's Avatar
mojo Offline
Private Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,633
Thanks: 168
Thanked 136 Times in 109 Posts
Default

Thank you for your help greek. This has now been reported to google.
Reply With Quote

  #5 (permalink)  
Old 20th-March-2008, 09:58 PM
greek39 Offline
Private Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,332
Thanks: 269
Thanked 157 Times in 117 Posts
Thumbs up

No problem mojo anytime!

greek39
Reply With Quote

  #6 (permalink)  
Old 21st-March-2008, 04:23 AM
WagerX's Avatar
WagerX Offline
Private Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Costa Rica
Posts: 702
Thanks: 115
Thanked 88 Times in 74 Posts
Default

That sounds like a nightmare Mojo. I can't imagine that they would run their business like that. Have you been able to straighten it out yet?
__________________
www.online-casino-slot.co.uk
www.crazymonkeycasino.com
www.live-blackjack.co.uk
Link Exchanges welcome!! PM me for details.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to WagerX For This Useful Post:
mojo (21st-March-2008)

  #7 (permalink)  
Old 21st-March-2008, 08:20 AM
mojo's Avatar
mojo Offline
Private Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,633
Thanks: 168
Thanked 136 Times in 109 Posts
Default

It is a nightmare WagerX. I am off of their "service" however, this still remains and goodness knows what else.

xxxhttp://zeus.meccahosting.com/~a0004f6d/

Thanks, I'll recover.
Reply With Quote

  #8 (permalink)  
Old 21st-March-2008, 10:24 AM
universal4's Avatar
universal4 Offline
Security/Membership Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Sinking Fast
Posts: 7,446
Thanks: 0
Thanked 95 Times in 81 Posts
Default

This is a horrible and disgusting practice.

It gives those of us honest hosts a bad name and makes it more difficult to generate new business.

I agree that word-of-mouth recommendations are a good place to start when searching for hosts. And remmember, just because a host is big, does not mean they will service your account the way it is needed.

Some of the largests hosts out there, have rules and restrictions hidden in their terms of service that they can use against you to turn off your account or restrict access to your sites unless you pay additional fees etc.

Rick
Universal4
__________________
Casino Affiliate Programs
Hosting and Domain Names
Help with Slot Fever/Vegas Magic Winward Refer Bingo
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to universal4 For This Useful Post:
greek39 (21st-March-2008), mojo (21st-March-2008)

  #9 (permalink)  
Old 21st-March-2008, 01:06 PM
Nandakishore's Avatar
Nandakishore Offline
Private Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In Germany near Munich
Posts: 544
Thanks: 89
Thanked 60 Times in 45 Posts
Send a message via MSN to Nandakishore Send a message via Skype™ to Nandakishore
Default

Is there any way of blacklisting such a provider?

_______________________________

Nandakishore
Online Casino Newsroom
Facebook
APCW Interactive
Link exchange welcome. PM me.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Nandakishore For This Useful Post:
mojo (21st-March-2008)

  #10 (permalink)  
Old 21st-March-2008, 01:29 PM
mojo's Avatar
mojo Offline
Private Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,633
Thanks: 168
Thanked 136 Times in 109 Posts
Default

Quote:
Is there any way of blacklisting such a provider?
When I closed my account and offered them (more than) a few choice words, it was my impression that they are proud of what they offer. Which, they explain, "helps" people get "more traffic" that they couldn't do on their own.

I indicated that I would report them and they didn't seem to mind this at all. I did report to google but I don't know how effective I am, not being a tech wizard.

One reason I posted here was to try to spread the word. I am afraid they are going to continue this practice on unsuspecting victims. If anyone has a regular seo/webmaster forum that visit, feel free to pass this on.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hosting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:35 AM.
Mark Forums Read | View Forum Leaders

 Contact Us  |  Top