Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    GamblersHeaven is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    December 1969
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    672
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Default Questions About Moving Site

    I'm going to be moving my HTML based website to a new host and I will be changing the website over to WordPress. I'm trying to figure out the best way to cut down time. It will take me some time to get the website setup on WordPress because it is a new platform to me. Is there a way for me to setup the WordPress theme and get it ready on a different domain or something similar and then move the domain over to the new host and apply the theme to that domain? Is it possible to move the site in its current state and setup the WordPress theme on a subdomain? I'm open and searching for any input on a better way to do this. Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    overthehill is offline Public Member
    Join Date
    March 2016
    Posts
    63
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

    Default

    I've just been through the same thing. Some hosting companies do hosting with a tem domain that you can then switch over when ready. I used GoDaddy for mine, did the trick and was hassle free.

  3. #3
    sweetbet's Avatar
    sweetbet is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    November 2012
    Posts
    2,693
    Blog Entries
    5
    Thanks
    840
    Thanked 1,504 Times in 1,041 Posts

    Default

    I did the same thing a few years ago. I transferred a html site to wordpress and moved it to a different server.

    I set up the wordpress site and added all the posts, pages, images, etc to it. Then I created a .htaccess file that redirects the html pages to the wordpress pages, etc and uploaded the .htaccess file into the old html site.
    Sweet Bet - Reviews of reputable online casinos, poker sites, sportsbooks & bingo halls
    USA Online Casinos | Canadian Online Casinos | Bitcoin Casinos | Live Dealer Casinos | Free Spin Casinos | US Online Casinos | Just HODL Crypto

  4. #4
    universal4's Avatar
    universal4 is online now Forum Administrator
    Join Date
    July 2003
    Location
    Sinking Faster, just when I thought it couldn't get worse it did!
    Posts
    25,152
    Thanks
    1,520
    Thanked 7,076 Times in 4,502 Posts

    Default

    There are a number of ways this can be done depending in the type of hosting you are moving to.

    You can do it on an ip, disable search bots temporarily, and then when the site is ready, make the changes in dns or cpanel if on the same server and then change the root name in wordpress to point at the domain and not the ip address. You could actually also do it on a sub-domain.

    As others have said, you should also do the htaccess to redirect the html pages to the pages/posts on the wordpress site.

    Rick
    Universal4

  5. #5
    GamblersHeaven is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    December 1969
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    672
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    Thanks for the replies. I'm going to be moving one site over to Host Gator to try them out. They told me to setup the Wordpress on a different domain or a subdomain and once I get it ready it can be switched over to the correct domain. Does this sound correct? I'm going to be changing it from HTML to Wordpress and I have no Wordpress experience so it's going to be a process.

  6. #6
    universal4's Avatar
    universal4 is online now Forum Administrator
    Join Date
    July 2003
    Location
    Sinking Faster, just when I thought it couldn't get worse it did!
    Posts
    25,152
    Thanks
    1,520
    Thanked 7,076 Times in 4,502 Posts

    Default

    A different domain or a subdomain can work, but be sure to disallow bots and set the site to not be indexed until after it is switched over.

    Rick
    Universal4

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to universal4 For This Useful Post:

    GamblersHeaven (12 April 2016)

  8. #7
    GamblersHeaven is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    December 1969
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    672
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    How exactly do you disallow bots and set a site to not be indexed? Is that done in the robots file?

  9. #8
    wonderpunter's Avatar
    wonderpunter is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    August 2013
    Posts
    2,117
    Blog Entries
    5
    Thanks
    382
    Thanked 1,515 Times in 894 Posts

    Default

    you can transfer to new host and wait until you point the DNS "acces driect via IP Adress.. so your original site will still stay up until you are finished, or you could just build on your local drive then upload all to new host

  10. #9
    universal4's Avatar
    universal4 is online now Forum Administrator
    Join Date
    July 2003
    Location
    Sinking Faster, just when I thought it couldn't get worse it did!
    Posts
    25,152
    Thanks
    1,520
    Thanked 7,076 Times in 4,502 Posts

    Default

    If you transfer to another host before the site is built it doesn't help with the original question of building out the site first.

    To stop the site from being indexed,
    Log in to wordpress
    In the left navigation go to Settings
    Reading
    Tick the checkbox for "Discourage search engines from indexing this site"

    Also it is a good idea to add a robots.txt to disallow all

    Upon site completion:
    Be sure when the site is ready and you make the dns changes to uncheck the box in settings, edit the robots.txt to allow the engines

    And set the Wordpress Address URL and Site Address URL to the permanent domain name in the Left Navigation under Settings - General (This should be the temporary domain name until the site is built)

    Rick
    Universal4

  11. #10
    GamblersHeaven is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    December 1969
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    672
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    Thanks for the great information everyone. I guess I'm off to try to learn Wordpress now!

  12. #11
    Vrindavan's Avatar
    Vrindavan is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    June 2007
    Posts
    195
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks
    1,624
    Thanked 18 Times in 15 Posts

    Default

    Is that WordPress can import ALL webpages from a HTML based website automatically with a click ?

  13. #12
    GamblersHeaven is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    December 1969
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    672
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    I want to do a completely new design on the website so I don't need to do an import. As of now a have a HTML website up on a host and I want to move it to Host Gator and do a completely new design on Wordpress.

    I thought I understood how to do this, but I have only dealt with HTML or Dreamweaver and my current host since the beginning. I need to keep the website up in its current HTML state until I get the new design ready. If I try to build a new wordpress site on a different domain, how can I correctly set it up to correctly load images or point links correctly if I'm on a different domain? Is this possible or am I just missing something?

  14. #13
    universal4's Avatar
    universal4 is online now Forum Administrator
    Join Date
    July 2003
    Location
    Sinking Faster, just when I thought it couldn't get worse it did!
    Posts
    25,152
    Thanks
    1,520
    Thanked 7,076 Times in 4,502 Posts

    Default

    Your question about image source locations depends on whether the cources on the html site are relative (in relation tot he root folder /) or they are abosolute (in relation to the http://domainname/foldername/)

    You could actually copy the source code from Dreamweaver code view into the pages or posts of wordpress, but I would suggest pasting into notepad first and changing image src locations if needed.

    This would allow you to search and replace the src locations with the new locations, then copy back into the clipboard and then paste into the page or post in test view.

    Be aware that if you have a heavy use of css formatting on the html site, you will need to rename the styles, or add the css to the template's css. If the majority of the code os straight html without much css formatting, it will actually be fairly smooth once you get started and figure out the best method of copying/pasting.

    If you are unsure about this part, give us an example page or two and we can take a look and possibly make further recommendations.

    Rick
    Universal4

  15. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to universal4 For This Useful Post:

    GamblersHeaven (17 April 2016), Vrindavan (17 April 2016)

  16. #14
    GamblersHeaven is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    December 1969
    Location
    Alabama
    Posts
    672
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    I'm not trying to copy over any of the current content, I'm looking to start over with a brand new wordpress design. The site is currently all HTML and being hosted at Carpathia. I want to start over with the new wordpress design at Host Gator. I don't know if (a)there is a way for me to keep the site at Carpathia up and build the new design at Host Gator, (b) Move the HTML design over to Host Gator and build the new design at Host Gator, or a way I'm not sure of. Should I set it up on a different domain, a sub-domain, or something else? I would prefer to set the new design up with the correct link structure as I'm not sure if there is a way to set it up on a different domain and move it over without spending a lot of time changing links. My main issue is how to move to the new host with a completely new design with minimum downtime. Since I don't know wordpress it will take some time to complete a new design so I want to be sure when I get going and get finished I can move it to the correct domain without issue.

    Sorry if I'm asking some of the same questions but I'm really unsure of the best way to do this. I do appreciate all the help and input!

  17. #15
    universal4's Avatar
    universal4 is online now Forum Administrator
    Join Date
    July 2003
    Location
    Sinking Faster, just when I thought it couldn't get worse it did!
    Posts
    25,152
    Thanks
    1,520
    Thanked 7,076 Times in 4,502 Posts

    Default

    Yes,the way a few of us have stated.

    Either on a sub domain or on an ip or a different domain.

    I explained it in this post http://www.gpwa.org/forum/questions-...tml#post814494 the only thing different is that you will be creating all new pages instead of copying the content from the old pages over.

    Rick
    Universal4

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •