GPWA
Welcome, Guest  [Log In -or- Join GPWA]
  Advanced Search

 
Go Back   Gambling Portal Webmasters Association > Public > Content Thieves
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes

  #1 (permalink)  
Old 15th-April-2008, 09:49 AM
brean78 Offline
Private Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default They have stolen mine, they might have your's too!

The owner of this site seems to be enjoying the hard work that everyone else is prepared to do. They have ripped off at least one of my reviews and may have some of yours:

http://www.extremesoccerbet.com/paddy.html

This is one scraped straight from my site.


The worst thing is they have a network of sites, which may well have other affiliates reviews, guides etc on.

Anyone else come across them?

Have done a whois look up and emailed them. Have lso emailed Paddy Power, although had no response as yet.
__________________
Online Betting
Reply With Quote

  #2 (permalink)  
Old 15th-April-2008, 06:44 PM
WagerX's Avatar
WagerX Offline
Private Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Costa Rica
Posts: 780
Thanks: 120
Thanked 106 Times in 92 Posts
Default

Thanks for the heads up. Contact the affiliate program and let them know that your site was scraped by their affiliate. Hopefully they will respond.
Good luck.
__________________
www.online-casino-slot.co.uk
www.crazymonkeycasino.com
www.live-blackjack.co.uk
Link Exchanges welcome!! PM me for details.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to WagerX For This Useful Post:
greek39 (16th-April-2008)

  #3 (permalink)  
Old 16th-April-2008, 10:11 AM
greek39 Offline
Private Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,333
Thanks: 269
Thanked 158 Times in 117 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brean78 View Post
The owner of this site seems to be enjoying the hard work that everyone else is prepared to do. They have ripped off at least one of my reviews and may have some of yours:

http://www.extremesoccerbet.com/paddy.html

This is one scraped straight from my site.


The worst thing is they have a network of sites, which may well have other affiliates reviews, guides etc on.

Anyone else come across them?

Have done a whois look up and emailed them. Have lso emailed Paddy Power, although had no response as yet.
Fixed yet? Likely not I suppose.

Kudos to to you Wager for responding now if others would. I guess everyone is just too busy.

greek39
__________________
Quote:
He was a one-man galaxy of self-regard, and no one laments the crash of a career built on crushing the careers of better and more honourable men. For The National, I'm Rex Murphy.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to greek39 For This Useful Post:
WagerX (16th-April-2008)

  #4 (permalink)  
Old 16th-April-2008, 11:31 AM
brean78 Offline
Private Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

No not yet. My two contacts at PP are out of the office. Am going to send an email to the main affiliate contact address.
__________________
Online Betting
Reply With Quote

  #5 (permalink)  
Old 16th-April-2008, 11:23 PM
greek39 Offline
Private Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,333
Thanks: 269
Thanked 158 Times in 117 Posts
Thumbs up

Sorry brean78 I could have not been of more assistance. I wish you well and good luck.

All the Best

greek39
__________________
Quote:
He was a one-man galaxy of self-regard, and no one laments the crash of a career built on crushing the careers of better and more honourable men. For The National, I'm Rex Murphy.
Reply With Quote

  #6 (permalink)  
Old 17th-April-2008, 03:59 AM
Fintan Offline
Affiliate Program Rep
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 85
Thanks: 18
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via MSN to Fintan Send a message via Yahoo to Fintan
Default

Hi Brean

Sinead and Jess are both away on holidays but Im holding the fort here in Paddy Power Affiliate Towers.

I've emailed the affiliate in question and asked them to remove any copied content from their site.

There is always somone managing the affiliates mailbox and the address is affiliates@paddypower.com

Cheers

Fintan
Reply With Quote

  #7 (permalink)  
Old 17th-April-2008, 07:13 AM
brean78 Offline
Private Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Thanks Fintan

Your a legend.

Have Pm'd you.
__________________
Online Betting
Reply With Quote

  #8 (permalink)  
Old 17th-April-2008, 09:07 AM
Fintan Offline
Affiliate Program Rep
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 85
Thanks: 18
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via MSN to Fintan Send a message via Yahoo to Fintan
Default

Remember people, copied content makes baby Jesus cry!
Reply With Quote

  #9 (permalink)  
Old 18th-April-2008, 09:20 AM
pgaming's Avatar
pgaming Offline
Public Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 38
Thanks: 10
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Brean,

Not sure if you noticed the URL posted is currently 404. Whoever stolen the content must have changed their mind!

WTG

Reply With Quote

  #10 (permalink)  
Old 19th-April-2008, 11:53 PM
AussieDave's Avatar
AussieDave Offline
Private Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Australia - Mate!
Posts: 1,275
Thanks: 86
Thanked 117 Times in 86 Posts
Send a message via Yahoo to AussieDave
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fintan View Post
I've emailed the affiliate in question and asked them to remove any copied content from their site.
As much as I'm sure Brean appreciates you contacting the affiliate in question, telling someone to remove the content is like telling a thief to return the car he/she just stole.

How many other sites has this person scrapped? Hence I'm wondering why you'd want to do business or associate with an affiliate that steals content? Because if they will steal content then it's a good chance they'll do other dodgy practices as well.

I'd also like to add...Did the thief also have links to the reviewed site?

If so how much revenue did this thief make from the stolen content? If sign-ups occurred then I think it would be fair to give these players to Brean and any commissions earned directly from the stolen content page also.



Cheers



Dave
__________________
------------------
Why risk copyright infridgement? Obtain high quality gambling related artwork, backgrounds, images for as little as $1US per item! Professional Stock Content
------------------
Need reliable UK Hosting? http://www.vidahost.com
Use Coupon Code: GAME01 and receive a 10% exclusive discount.
------------------

Last edited by AussieDave; 20th-April-2008 at 12:08 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:54 PM.
Mark Forums Read | View Forum Leaders

 Contact Us  |  Top