PROFRBcom is offline Private Member
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,020 Times in 657 Posts

Default Cheap Registrar for New TLDs?

I had a bright idea to register one of the new age TLDs.

I went to NameCheap to buy it and even though it was unowned, the price was $3,500 USD!

I gave up on that domain because the price is not worth it for my purposes, and I hate getting ripped off.

This morning, a friend @ GPWA tells me another registrar has it for $30 bucks.

I am a newbie and didn't realize there could be such a price difference so I ran over to that registrar to snag my baby.

Turns out the registrar pulled a bait and switch and the price was $750 USD. More reasonable for sure, but still kinda WTF with the tactics and price in general.

Now I am curious, does anyone have any recommendations for a cheap registrar they have used before? I would like to see if I can register my preferred domain for a more reasonable 2 digit price...
    Last edited by PROFRBcom; 18 February 2021 at 1:47 pm.

MJM
    MJM is offline Private Member
    Thanks

What TLD is this? I"ve never heard of such a thing, sounds a bit outrageous - especially the variance.

chaumi is online now Private Member
    Thanks

There are reasons...which I could probably tell you if I knew the domain. But I know it's unlikely you would want to share it, at least openly.

If you see a domain that shows big money (ie more than 2 figures) at one registrar, then yes it could vary at others...but not wildly unless they have some sort of deal on.

But the one you're talking about will most likely be a special case/have a specific reason why it's priced where it is

4. The Following User Says Thank You to chaumi For This Useful Post:

MJM (18 February 2021)

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by MJM View Post
    What TLD is this? I"ve never heard of such a thing, sounds a bit outrageous - especially the variance.
    Sounds very outrageous. I am outraged lol!

The specific TLD I want to use is .site