Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    WhatxD is offline Public Member
    Join Date
    October 2015
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 8 Posts

    Default Playtech Software Not Working On My Computer - Anyone Else?

    Over the last 24 hours, I've tried to use William Hill poker, William Hill Casino, Paddy Power Casino, Bet365 Casino and Betfair Casino, all of which have been installed on my computer for years and none of them are working. They open up, but then get some kind of "windows trying to solve the problem" type message and then it closes.

    Is anyone else experiencing anything similar and does anyone know of a fix for it?

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to WhatxD For This Useful Post:

    ocreditor (10 January 2016)

  3. #2
    JackTenSuited is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    March 2004
    Posts
    1,014
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 334 Times in 207 Posts

    Default

    I've had this error a lot recently "windows trying to solve the problem"

    Have you tried running as admin? or reinstalling from a fresh download on the original site?

  4. #3
    WhatxD is offline Public Member
    Join Date
    October 2015
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 8 Posts

    Default

    I figured out the problem. It is a recent windows update that resulted in a windows/mcafee/firewall alliance that as far as I could tell, was blocking software that connects to the Internet.

    After creating this thread, I tried Microgaming casinos and a few programs that are nothing to do with gaming and none of it worked. The fix was simple, just go to "Settings" "update and recovery" and then go back to the previous version of windows, it solved the problem for me.

  5. #4
    universal4's Avatar
    universal4 is online now Forum Administrator
    Join Date
    July 2003
    Location
    Courage is being scared to death...and saddling up anyway. John Wayne
    Posts
    28,340
    Thanks
    2,301
    Thanked 7,989 Times in 5,045 Posts

    Default

    If this came about from a windows update, the next time a windows update takes place it will likely happen again.

    I am not aware of any direct connection with McAfee that Microsoft has made that would be pushed out with windows update since if this happened every single other antivirus vendor would scream conflict of interest.

    Microsoft does have firewalls built in to most versions of windows though so it could be a setting in the firewall that changed during an update.

    If you have a registered version of McAfee installed, it also could have been an update from them that caused the issue.

    If it was either firewall or antivirus that caused it, it could be that the applications needed to be allowed or authorized again in order to work properly.

    Like jackten suggested, trying a fresh reinstall sounds more like the first thing to try since it could be that a needed dll or other required file might have been changed or quarantined.

    Rick
    Universal4

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to universal4 For This Useful Post:

    ocreditor (10 January 2016)

  7. #5
    DaftDog's Avatar
    DaftDog is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    October 2008
    Posts
    1,903
    Thanks
    540
    Thanked 663 Times in 383 Posts

    Default

    I'm experiencing a similar problem. Re-installed the playtech casino which did not help. Then deactivated my anti-virus program and firewall which also did not help.

    I'm not prepared revert back to an older version of Win 10.

    I have contacted my am so will wait and see.

  8. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to DaftDog For This Useful Post:

    ocreditor (10 January 2016), TheGooner (4 January 2016)

  9. #6
    TheGooner's Avatar
    TheGooner is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    March 2007
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    4,272
    Thanks
    1,956
    Thanked 4,221 Times in 2,009 Posts

    Default

    As a (maybe related) issue our review copy of blackjack ballroom software (microgaming) is failing to start as well.
    Like DaftDog we have checked (and completely disabled) our security software - no difference.

    This could be quite an impact - players unable to use software on Windows 10 would have a major impact on an installed customer base.
    You would expect programs and AM's to be noticing this - and already reacting?

    One thing I have noticed is that the Microgaming casino software updated itself on 2nd January - I can't confirm we have successfully used this new version ever.

    This might be a red-herring, or it might be related, I will contact Rewards Affiliates AM (Renee) to discuss and report back.

  10. #7
    WhatxD is offline Public Member
    Join Date
    October 2015
    Posts
    31
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 8 Posts

    Default

    I can confirm that I uninstalled and reinstalled several times and it did absolutely nothing to solve the problem. The only solution I found was going back to a previous version of Windows.

    I'm only "so so" in terms of my tech knowledge and before going back to the previous version of windows, I tried to turn the firewall off to see if that made a difference. It was quite literally impossible because the control panel said that mcafee was handling the firewall (I don't remember exactly how it was worded). There was no option for me to click on anything. Perhaps I was doing something wrong, I don't know.

    I agree with what The Gooner said; this could have long reaching affects on existing player bases, especially casino and poker players who only play via software.

  11. #8
    casinobonusguy is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    October 2006
    Posts
    1,996
    Thanks
    162
    Thanked 1,005 Times in 615 Posts

    Default

    There was a problem with 888 and Microgaming when the latest version of flash got installed.I have not tried in past 24 hours but Saturday night I tried and the download viper client still does not work and Microgaming are working on a solution.Maybe this is the issue you are facing ,flash play in browsers still work.

    Judy

  12. #9
    universal4's Avatar
    universal4 is online now Forum Administrator
    Join Date
    July 2003
    Location
    Courage is being scared to death...and saddling up anyway. John Wayne
    Posts
    28,340
    Thanks
    2,301
    Thanked 7,989 Times in 5,045 Posts

    Default

    I asked a friend in New Zealand to check this for me.

    They had Bet365 loaded before the upgrade to windows 10 and after running all the casino updates last night the Bet365 client ran fine.

    I wonder if this is related to a combination of windows 10 and certain security software or just windows 10 itself.

    This could have far reaching effects so the more we know the better we can help determine the direction of a solution.

    Rick
    Universal4

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to universal4 For This Useful Post:

    -Shay- (4 January 2016)

  14. #10
    Karri is offline Public Member
    Join Date
    November 2015
    Posts
    67
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 20 Times in 17 Posts

    Default

    Extremely unlikely that multiple sites would be down at the same time. I had a different problem with the latest updates to Windows firewall/anti-virus, it was using all hard drive capacity for automatic scanning(with no scheduled scans going on). I ended up turning it off and everything works fine now. Though make sure you have another working firewall/AV software. I used AVG and ZoneAlarm since they are free and cause very little complications...I worked years in IT support and in general stay away from any kind of Windows update; if it works don't fix it. And Windows 10 is definitely utter ****.

  15. #11
    TheGooner's Avatar
    TheGooner is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    March 2007
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    4,272
    Thanks
    1,956
    Thanked 4,221 Times in 2,009 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TheGooner View Post
    As a (maybe related) issue our review copy of blackjack ballroom software (microgaming) is failing to start as well.

    One thing I have noticed is that the Microgaming casino software updated itself on 2nd January - I can't confirm we have successfully used this new version ever.
    There WAS an issue with this - I raised it with Renee and got some background.

    Microgaming updated it's software using new Adobe updated flash functions which made some of it's procedure calls in Windows 10 illegal. (so the software stopped working).

    An update was pushed out yesterday - and flash microgaming casino software works again in Windows 10. Estimated outage was about 5-6 days over the new year period.

  16. #12
    universal4's Avatar
    universal4 is online now Forum Administrator
    Join Date
    July 2003
    Location
    Courage is being scared to death...and saddling up anyway. John Wayne
    Posts
    28,340
    Thanks
    2,301
    Thanked 7,989 Times in 5,045 Posts

    Default

    Thanks for following up Paul and thanks to Renee for providing the background.

    I had wondered if this issue might have been flash related, so anyone that is still having issues please post as to whether flash has been updated so we can provide as much information to the providers as possible to help figure out what the fix or workaround may be.

    We may find that the Playtech issue and Microgaming are separate issues........or not....

    Rick
    Universal4

  17. #13
    DaftDog's Avatar
    DaftDog is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    October 2008
    Posts
    1,903
    Thanks
    540
    Thanked 663 Times in 383 Posts

    Default

    The installed Playtech casino I referred to in a previous post is now working correctly. I did not receive any feed back from my AM who promised she would do so.

  18. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to DaftDog For This Useful Post:

    ocreditor (10 January 2016), universal4 (9 January 2016)

  19. #14
    Renee's Avatar
    Renee is offline Sponsor Affiliate Program
    Join Date
    August 2005
    Posts
    9,065
    Blog Entries
    6
    Thanks
    6,631
    Thanked 3,525 Times in 2,200 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by universal4 View Post
    Thanks for following up Paul and thanks to Renee for providing the background.

    I had wondered if this issue might have been flash related, so anyone that is still having issues please post as to whether flash has been updated so we can provide as much information to the providers as possible to help figure out what the fix or workaround may be.

    We may find that the Playtech issue and Microgaming are separate issues........or not....

    Rick
    Universal4
    I would say this is the same issue across all the platforms tbh. A flash updated affected non browser apps which broke Windows 7 and 8.
    As far as I know, everything in regards to microgaming has been fixed now.

    Can't speak on behalf of the other platforms.
    __________________
    Renee, Affiliate Program Manager
    http://www.RewardsAffiliates.com
    Affiliate Program for CasinoRewards.com
    Best Affiliate Manager - CAP Awards 2008
    Best Casino Affiliate Manager - CAP Awards 2009
    Best Casino Affiliate Manager - iGB Affiliate Awards 2010

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •