Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    baldidiot is online now Private Member
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Posts
    4,253
    Thanks
    403
    Thanked 1,948 Times in 1,280 Posts

    Default Anyone know a good place to register unused domains

    Whenever I buy a .com I tend to also buy the .co.uk etc.. to stop someone trying to cash in. I then redirect the .co.uk to the .com and so on. But my current host now wants 10 a year to redirect each domain.

    Can anyone recommend a good registrar to move them all (around 60) to that is competitively priced and also offers free redirecting/pointing?
    onlinegamblingwebsites.com - Formally known as goodbonusguide.
    baldidiot.net - Baldys affiliate blog. Will get updated one day. Maybe.

  2. #2
    rak's Avatar
    rak
    rak is offline Former AM
    Join Date
    January 2011
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    1,123
    Thanks
    250
    Thanked 334 Times in 258 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by baldidiot View Post
    Whenever I buy a .com I tend to also buy the .co.uk etc.. to stop someone trying to cash in. I then redirect the .co.uk to the .com and so on. But my current host now wants 10 a year to redirect each domain.

    Can anyone recommend a good registrar to move them all (around 60) to that is competitively priced and also offers free redirecting/pointing?
    Thats madness 10 a year to redirect each domain.

    Why not look at this option - setup your .co.uk on the same server as your .com (if it allows unlimited domains to be sitting on that hosting account), and put a 301 redirect in the root of the .co.uk.

  3. #3
    baldidiot is online now Private Member
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Posts
    4,253
    Thanks
    403
    Thanked 1,948 Times in 1,280 Posts

    Default

    True, but that sounds like a lot of work for 60 domains (a lot of which have different servers & main domains) when it should be a quick setting change. Plus I kind of don't want them to have the business if they're being so greedy!
    onlinegamblingwebsites.com - Formally known as goodbonusguide.
    baldidiot.net - Baldys affiliate blog. Will get updated one day. Maybe.

  4. #4
    universal4's Avatar
    universal4 is online now Forum Administrator
    Join Date
    July 2003
    Location
    Courage is being scared to death...and saddling up anyway. John Wayne
    Posts
    27,231
    Thanks
    1,970
    Thanked 7,757 Times in 4,889 Posts

    Default

    I agree that you could do this the way Rak said and use a 301.

    You could also do it in dns and it wouldn't cost you anything additional if you use your own dns server, but honestly the most effective way to do it is as Rak suggested.

    Rick
    Universal4
    Gambling World Online Roulette Online Blackjack Live Online Games Sports Betting Horse Racing
    Casino Affiliate Programs
    Hosting and Domain Names
    Gambling Industry Association
    GPWA Moderation by Me and My Big Bad Security Self
    If an affiliate program is not small affiliate friendly (especially small US Affiliate), then they are NOT Affiliate Friendly!

  5. #5
    rak's Avatar
    rak
    rak is offline Former AM
    Join Date
    January 2011
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    1,123
    Thanks
    250
    Thanked 334 Times in 258 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by baldidiot View Post
    True, but that sounds like a lot of work for 60 domains (a lot of which have different servers & main domains) when it should be a quick setting change. Plus I kind of don't want them to have the business if they're being so greedy!
    Transferring the domains to another registrar is going to cost you money as well.

  6. #6
    davemerry's Avatar
    davemerry is offline Public Member
    Join Date
    June 2010
    Location
    London
    Posts
    751
    Thanks
    332
    Thanked 229 Times in 181 Posts

    Default

    I know someone who recently paid to do this as well, I was shocked! Which registrar is it?

  7. #7
    baldidiot is online now Private Member
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Posts
    4,253
    Thanks
    403
    Thanked 1,948 Times in 1,280 Posts

    Default

    It was uk2. They used to just do it for me, and then one day I had a message from support saying I had to purchase DNS management and change it myself.

    That's not a bad idea though, I have a VPS I can set up a nameserver on and send them all through that. It's just a PITA though - I don't see how registrars think they can get off charging twice the price of the domain just to redirect it.
    onlinegamblingwebsites.com - Formally known as goodbonusguide.
    baldidiot.net - Baldys affiliate blog. Will get updated one day. Maybe.

  8. #8
    davemerry's Avatar
    davemerry is offline Public Member
    Join Date
    June 2010
    Location
    London
    Posts
    751
    Thanks
    332
    Thanked 229 Times in 181 Posts

    Default

    Ah yes, UK2 was the same as the guy I was chatting to the other day, I just assumed he was doing something wrong but obviously not. Rip-off!

  9. #9
    rak's Avatar
    rak
    rak is offline Former AM
    Join Date
    January 2011
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    1,123
    Thanks
    250
    Thanked 334 Times in 258 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by baldidiot View Post
    It was uk2. They used to just do it for me, and then one day I had a message from support saying I had to purchase DNS management and change it myself.

    That's not a bad idea though, I have a VPS I can set up a nameserver on and send them all through that. It's just a PITA though - I don't see how registrars think they can get off charging twice the price of the domain just to redirect it.

    How did you set up private nameservers using your registrar and VPS (am using WHM) ? I'm having problems doing this right now! I've only registered a domain, and have my VPS account.

  10. #10
    baldidiot is online now Private Member
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Posts
    4,253
    Thanks
    403
    Thanked 1,948 Times in 1,280 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rak View Post
    How did you set up private nameservers using your registrar and VPS (am using WHM) ? I'm having problems doing this right now! I've only registered a domain, and have my VPS account.
    I did it using WHM too - you need have two dedicated IP's, so you might need to ask for another one for the VPS (mine only came with one). And you'll need to add nameserver subdomains to your domain (eg: ns1.yourdomain.com and ns2.yourdomain.com) to point to the IP's, either by changing it yourself or asking the registrar to do it if you don't have access.

    Then it's just a case of using the nameserver set up wizzard in WHM: http://docs.cpanel.net/twiki/bin/vie...%20Nameservers

    It's not too difficult. One disadvantage of using your own nameserver on a VPS is that if it goes down, it takes with it all of the domains and emails you have routed through it (I learnt this the hard way whem my VPS went down for a week!).
    onlinegamblingwebsites.com - Formally known as goodbonusguide.
    baldidiot.net - Baldys affiliate blog. Will get updated one day. Maybe.

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to baldidiot For This Useful Post:

    rak (28 August 2011)

  12. #11
    rak's Avatar
    rak
    rak is offline Former AM
    Join Date
    January 2011
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    1,123
    Thanks
    250
    Thanked 334 Times in 258 Posts

    Default

    Thanks man!

    I ended up getting the two IPs setup in my registrar.. trying to find the place to add the ns1 , ns2 took about a day and a half. What a pain in the ass!

    I've started setting up the WHM side of things now. Things look pretty straight forward from here.

    The hosting solution I am using has my stuff setup on a cloud network, they guarantee 100% uptime. "If for any reason we fail to meet our SLA commitments, you will receive a credit for 10 times (1,000%) the actual amount of time you were affected."

    Support is also 24/7 phone and email - Ive tested it.. and theres always someone there.

  13. #12
    baldidiot is online now Private Member
    Join Date
    January 2010
    Posts
    4,253
    Thanks
    403
    Thanked 1,948 Times in 1,280 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rak View Post
    Thanks man!

    I ended up getting the two IPs setup in my registrar.. trying to find the place to add the ns1 , ns2 took about a day and a half. What a pain in the ass!

    I've started setting up the WHM side of things now. Things look pretty straight forward from here.

    The hosting solution I am using has my stuff setup on a cloud network, they guarantee 100% uptime. "If for any reason we fail to meet our SLA commitments, you will receive a credit for 10 times (1,000%) the actual amount of time you were affected."

    Support is also 24/7 phone and email - Ive tested it.. and theres always someone there.
    Can I ask who that's with? I might be looking to move providers.
    onlinegamblingwebsites.com - Formally known as goodbonusguide.
    baldidiot.net - Baldys affiliate blog. Will get updated one day. Maybe.

  14. #13
    rak's Avatar
    rak
    rak is offline Former AM
    Join Date
    January 2011
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    1,123
    Thanks
    250
    Thanked 334 Times in 258 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by baldidiot View Post
    Can I ask who that's with? I might be looking to move providers.
    really happy with the blazing fast speeds I am getting.

    www.liquidweb.com

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to rak For This Useful Post:

    baldidiot (8 September 2011)

  16. #14
    Leo's Avatar
    Leo
    Leo is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    December 2008
    Posts
    137
    Thanks
    80
    Thanked 40 Times in 32 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rak View Post
    really happy with the blazing fast speeds I am getting.

    www.liquidweb.com
    I have used liquidweb for a long time and they're good and reliable, although I don't keep gambling sites on that VPS due to wanting to keep those sites out of the USA - for that I use EuroVPS (good) and Clustered.net (best).

    Quote Originally Posted by rak View Post
    "If for any reason we fail to meet our SLA commitments, you will receive a credit for 10 times (1,000%) the actual amount of time you were affected."
    In my experience hosts almost always manage to successfully blame any problem on an 'upstream provider', or hardware failure 'in a data center not operated by us' etc., thereby avoiding responsibility and any credit for downtime!

  17. #15
    universal4's Avatar
    universal4 is online now Forum Administrator
    Join Date
    July 2003
    Location
    Courage is being scared to death...and saddling up anyway. John Wayne
    Posts
    27,231
    Thanks
    1,970
    Thanked 7,757 Times in 4,889 Posts

    Default

    In my experience, better hosts do NOT make excuses and tell their clients the truth....but the LARGER hosts do NOT always tell clients the truth.

    Most problems can usually be traced back to equipment failures.

    Rick
    Universal4
    Gambling World Online Roulette Online Blackjack Live Online Games Sports Betting Horse Racing
    Casino Affiliate Programs
    Hosting and Domain Names
    Gambling Industry Association
    GPWA Moderation by Me and My Big Bad Security Self
    If an affiliate program is not small affiliate friendly (especially small US Affiliate), then they are NOT Affiliate Friendly!

  18. #16
    Casinorep's Avatar
    Casinorep is offline Public Member
    Join Date
    November 2002
    Posts
    939
    Thanks
    147
    Thanked 268 Times in 202 Posts

    Default

    Who are you currently using? Have you tried Godaddy?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •