Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    GFPC is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    April 2008
    Location
    Everywhere
    Posts
    3,520
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks
    1,150
    Thanked 1,034 Times in 674 Posts

    Default Question regarding transfering a site to a different domain extension

    Hi there,

    I was just curious I had two sites awhile back and the domains went into redemption and I lost them.
    I still have all the files and data bases for these two sites. They were pretty decent sites and I had several sign ups
    but based on neglect I lost them.

    If i purchased say two exact match domain names with a .ca extension can i get those sites live again? I always thought it was possible but because of the extension you would have data base errors.

    Is this possible? Just curious as i lost two good sites from this error of mine.

    Steve


  2. #2
    Sherlock's Avatar
    Sherlock is offline Public Member
    Join Date
    December 2013
    Location
    WC
    Posts
    4,522
    Thanks
    1,326
    Thanked 3,550 Times in 1,991 Posts

    Default

    decent coding should be done universally and not binded to some specific domain
    even if the coder was filthy, the domain can be always manually or automatically edited

    you should not lose the website, but you lost all the history and ranks
    If you talk to God, you are praying; If God talks to you, you have schizophrenia.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Sherlock For This Useful Post:

    GFPC (23 January 2020)

  4. #3
    GFPC is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    April 2008
    Location
    Everywhere
    Posts
    3,520
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks
    1,150
    Thanked 1,034 Times in 674 Posts

    Default

    Thanks for your comment.

    I was only curious about the exact process to get it done.

    I register the .ca domain (the old one was a .net)

    I add a domain to cpanel

    add wordpress

    import the old data base file

    should be ok right?


  5. #4
    rafraf is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    November 2017
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    154
    Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    Should be if you are familiar with the process , maybe you have a friend web developer who can help, or you can hire someone here probably to take a look
    Play different Worldwide Lotteries online. Visit Wyniki Lotto NET to read latest lottery news from Poland. Maybe you are interested in Philippines Lotto (PCSO).

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to rafraf For This Useful Post:

    GFPC (23 January 2020)

  7. #5
    GFPC is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    April 2008
    Location
    Everywhere
    Posts
    3,520
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks
    1,150
    Thanked 1,034 Times in 674 Posts

    Default

    Thanks mate for your comment.. I recall doing this several years ago... it took me 6o days to figure it out at 4 hours per day. 240 hours I remember vividly. All good that is 6 full weeks of full time work at 40 hours a week! I'm good with that.


  8. #6
    allaboutthebets's Avatar
    allaboutthebets is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    February 2017
    Posts
    940
    Thanks
    908
    Thanked 420 Times in 304 Posts

    Default

    Use velvet URL plugin to change all the plugins without doing it manually. Should be easy enough to do
    bettingworx.com - latest betting app reviews & guides for Android, iOS & mobile.
    androidbettingappguide.co.uk - Reviews, download guides & info for betting apps on Android devices
    bettingapps365com - Dedicated Android app store for all gambling apps
    bingoappguide.co.uk - Reviews & guides for all real money bingo apps
    appsdeapuestas.es | app-scommesse.com | pokerappguide.com | gamble-usa.com

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to allaboutthebets For This Useful Post:

    GFPC (23 January 2020)

  10. #7
    Strider1973's Avatar
    Strider1973 is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    November 2012
    Posts
    414
    Thanks
    296
    Thanked 257 Times in 174 Posts

    Default

    Yes of course you need to change the URL from old to new. You can do this for example with "Better Search and Replace" Plugin.

    But first add the SQL-Database and change the site URL to the new URL (through phpmyadmin). Then login to WP and perfrom the search and replace.
    "Semper paratus!"
    My BTC Address: 1F11EJvSAab5vMQgGWGQMASr9T7LCkZjvb

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to Strider1973 For This Useful Post:

    GFPC (23 January 2020)

  12. #8
    GFPC is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    April 2008
    Location
    Everywhere
    Posts
    3,520
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks
    1,150
    Thanked 1,034 Times in 674 Posts

    Default

    Hey thanks guys those are awesome idea! I really appreciate it!


  13. The Following User Says Thank You to GFPC For This Useful Post:

    allaboutthebets (23 January 2020)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •