Last weekend at the Gran Casino Costa Meloneras, Sweden’s Mikael Johansson won the 2010 Everest Poker European Cup. Mikael took home the first prize of €21,000, defeating 185 players from 15 countries and enjoyed a luxury weekend at the five-star Baobab Resort in the Spanish island of Gran Canaria, courtesy of Everest Poker. The top 36 players shared in a €100,000 prize pool.

All EPEC participants qualified for free in online and live tournaments hosted by Everest Poker. In addition to hitting the tables for Europe’s most prestigious freeroll event, Players enjoyed a luxury weekend of fun and sun at the five-star Baobab Resort on the stunning Spanish island of Gran Canaria.

For many players, this was their first live tournament. Excitement, high expectations and genuine emotions were in the air from the moment shuffle up and deal was first called, all the way to the spectacular final table.

The EPEC Team competition, which was introduced this year for the first time, was awarded to Belgium, the only country that sent two players to the final table — Pierre Canart (the runner up) and Egi Adriaans (out in 6th position).

For the fourth year in a row, EPEC proved to be a truly unique experience beyond poker. EPEC gives hundreds of poker enthusiasts the opportunity to meet others with similar interests from all over Europe.

“These players share the same passion for poker and having fun, and this was an opportunity gain live poker experience while enjoying a free weekend of sun, fun and parties in one of the most celebrated holiday destinations,” says Mariken Maal-Hogenhout, Everest Poker’s Benelux Regional Manager.

This year’s event in Gran Canaria also hosted more press than ever before. 57 journalists attended this year’s EPEC, with 46 playing in the press tournament. Poland’s Michael Hatzanke outlasted his fellow members of the press to win a brand new iPad.

2010 EPEC Results
1. Mikael Johansson-Sweden-€21,000
2. Pierre Canart-Belgium-€16,000
3. Tamas Csibri-Hungary-€12,000
4. Jesus Perez Tovar-Spain-€9,000
5. Gael Seydoux-Switzerland-€7,000
6. Egi Adriaans-Belgium-€5,000
7. Nuno Cardozo-Portugal-€4,000
8. Benjamin Rehm-Germany-€3,000
9. Morten Kjaer Jensen-Denmark-€2,000