Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    TravG's Avatar
    TravG is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    September 2008
    Posts
    2,050
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 178 Times in 130 Posts

    Default Weird Connection Problem

    This is going to sound a little weird, but it seems like people who use Comcast for their Internet service cannot see my website www.onlineslotshub.com I have never seen where there has only been problems with just one service provider?

    I use Comcast and couldn't access my website so I called GoDaddy and after they looked at it they said everything was OK. Weirdly when I accessed the website from my cell phone it came up? So I asked a friend to check it and he couldn't see it either, but he uses Comcast also. So I had another friend look at and she uses Century Link for Internet service and it comes up fine.

    So it really does seem like people who use Comcast for their Internet service cannot see my website. You get an error saying "The Webpage is not Available".

    Has anyone ever heard of a such a thing or have ran into this before? Any suggestions on how to get it fixed?

    Thanks - Travis
    Live Casino USA - the best USA live online casinos. Play USA online slots and other casino games like USA online blackjack. Like poker? See www.usalegalpoker.com for the best USA poker sites and USA online casinos for the best USA online casino. https://mobileslotslisting.com
    www.usalegalslots.com - www.playusaonlinepoker.com - www.4deucespoker.com

  2. #2
    TheGooner's Avatar
    TheGooner is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    March 2007
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    4,269
    Thanks
    1,955
    Thanked 4,218 Times in 2,008 Posts

    Default

    What happen when you fail? What error message do you get? What Browser are you using?

    Obvious question :
    Has Godaddy recently relocated your server / IP address and will you just have to wait for the new DNS address to propogate?

    Or :
    It might be a problem with routers and cached addressing. Down here we have all manner of crappy old routers and they seem to use some sort of cache system that gives inaccurate routing and can result in DNS failures as severs go down in the path - it doesn't try a new path

    I've noticed a workaround where you access in Internet Explorer and then click on "Fix problem" button when the error comes up and it seems to go out and create a new connection that all the other browsers (Firefox, Chrome, Safari) can then follow.

    I cannot get the more modern browsers to retry and need to use IE for this.

  3. #3
    wonderpunter's Avatar
    wonderpunter is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    August 2013
    Posts
    2,549
    Blog Entries
    5
    Thanks
    402
    Thanked 1,698 Times in 1,021 Posts

    Default

    I used to get it a lot on my laptop.. usually your ISP Dns is the problem you can use Opendns or google dns either change via your network connection in the network control panel, or change through the router settings, https://www.opendns.com/home-interne...-ip-addresses/

  4. #4
    TravG's Avatar
    TravG is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    September 2008
    Posts
    2,050
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 178 Times in 130 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wonderpunter View Post
    I used to get it a lot on my laptop.. usually your ISP Dns is the problem you can use Opendns or google dns either change via your network connection in the network control panel, or change through the router settings, https://www.opendns.com/home-interne...-ip-addresses/
    Thanks - but that will only fix my personal machine right? I am more concerned about all the people who use Comcast that cant see my website. Stats have definitely taken a hit. Comcast serves a lot of people.
    Live Casino USA - the best USA live online casinos. Play USA online slots and other casino games like USA online blackjack. Like poker? See www.usalegalpoker.com for the best USA poker sites and USA online casinos for the best USA online casino. https://mobileslotslisting.com
    www.usalegalslots.com - www.playusaonlinepoker.com - www.4deucespoker.com

  5. #5
    slotplayer is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    September 2006
    Posts
    1,040
    Thanks
    195
    Thanked 323 Times in 252 Posts

    Default

    Can you access other sites from comcast that are on Godaddy like my site?

    not sure if this is the problem but here is a similar case.

    "Issue resolved. Apparently, my website IP is shared by a group Verizon websites, one of which was phishing. Comcast contacted Verizon to close down the site, but when Verizon was slow to react, Comcast blocked the whole group."

    Here are all the details.
    http://forums.comcast.com/t5/Basic-I...e/td-p/1223935

  6. #6
    wonderpunter's Avatar
    wonderpunter is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    August 2013
    Posts
    2,549
    Blog Entries
    5
    Thanks
    402
    Thanked 1,698 Times in 1,021 Posts

    Default

    If it's every Comcast user then it's a problem their side maybe testing with a different dns might help? , I had something similar a while back but it was related to cloudflare dns sites, do Comcast have an adult filter switched on by default?

  7. #7
    TravG's Avatar
    TravG is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    September 2008
    Posts
    2,050
    Thanks
    34
    Thanked 178 Times in 130 Posts

    Default

    I can access any other website I try to, just not mine. I was able to see my website no problem until abut 3 days ago. I guess I need to contact comcast. It could be that Comcast shut it off for some reason but I do have a dedicated ip on the website to try to avoid things like this. I cant believe comcast would block a slots website but you never know. I would think my dedicated ip would protect me against them turning my website off due to other bad websites??
    Live Casino USA - the best USA live online casinos. Play USA online slots and other casino games like USA online blackjack. Like poker? See www.usalegalpoker.com for the best USA poker sites and USA online casinos for the best USA online casino. https://mobileslotslisting.com
    www.usalegalslots.com - www.playusaonlinepoker.com - www.4deucespoker.com

  8. #8
    -Shay- is offline Public Member
    Join Date
    November 2012
    Posts
    3,062
    Thanks
    12,211
    Thanked 3,132 Times in 1,686 Posts

    Default

    Is there some sort of new filter setting at the ISP level?

  9. #9
    wonderpunter's Avatar
    wonderpunter is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    August 2013
    Posts
    2,549
    Blog Entries
    5
    Thanks
    402
    Thanked 1,698 Times in 1,021 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by -Shay- View Post
    Is there some sort of new filter setting at the ISP level?
    Not sure I know some ISP's in certain countries do it.. and usually without asking first "to protect children supposedly" I think UK ISP's are doing it or soon will be, so i wouldnt be surprised if Muricas favorite cable company started policing, however it might just be blocked or DNS problem.. I have had similar with Movistar not connecting to any cloudflare sites.. inc reddit etc. this was nationwide.. it was fixed within a few hours.. could be something similar but as it's just his site they could be unaware? or maybe they enabled this filter by default? http://customer.comcast.com/help-and...s-safe-search/

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to wonderpunter For This Useful Post:

    -Shay- (19 February 2015)

  11. #10
    universal4's Avatar
    universal4 is offline Forum Administrator
    Join Date
    July 2003
    Location
    Courage is being scared to death...and saddling up anyway. John Wayne
    Posts
    28,302
    Thanks
    2,296
    Thanked 7,985 Times in 5,041 Posts

    Default

    This certainly sounds like a dns/dns caching issue.

    I had this problem with a handful of sites once, I could almost always access from various places, but dns lookups (as well as ns lookups) would often fail. (not 100% of the time but maybe 25% or so)

    Believe it or not, when the ns lookups failed, it was ALWAYS the same dns servers answering wrong....wait for it....the dns servers that CONSISTENTLY FAILED google's own public dns servers.

    I changed my authoritative dns servers to Level 3 and the problem went away and I have never seen the issue since.

    Rick
    Universal4

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •