View Poll Results: Do you use a Web Content Management System for managing your site(s)?

Voters
24. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

    15 62.50%
  • No

    9 37.50%
Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Nandakishore's Avatar
    Nandakishore is offline In Memorium, 1935-2014
    Join Date
    December 2006
    Location
    In Germany near Munich
    Posts
    2,104
    Blog Entries
    5
    Thanks
    931
    Thanked 496 Times in 367 Posts

    Default Using a Web Content Management System

    I personally use a WCMS for managing our website. This technique has lots of advantages, especially if you have a team working on a project where not everyone is an expert programmer. But purely programming language-driven solutions have also their charm. I thought it would be interesting to know how most of us manage their sites.

    Nandakishore
    Online Casino Newsroom
    Online Gambling Website

  2. #2
    MrKay is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    223
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 43 Times in 33 Posts

    Default

    I tried a couple of cms packages a couple of years ago and found them so unfriendly that I gave up and started writing my own, I really wanted the flexibility of being able to do what I want with my pages.

    That said it takes so much longer to write your own and I have seen lots of really nice sites recently using cms, there are also so many addons available nowadays making cms much more flexible.

    I may well look at using cms in the near future.
    MrKay
    ------------------------

  3. #3
    masontech's Avatar
    masontech is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    October 2007
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    334
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 40 Times in 39 Posts

    Default Web CMS

    I personally use RapidWeaver on my Mac.

    I have been doing HTML for quite a few years and do not struggle with it but RapidWeaver just gives you a fantastic framework and makes adding new pages a doddle. You regain full HTML control if you want it. All the code it generates complies with XHTML Strict and CSS and the code is very SEO friendly.

    Since i found out about RapidWeaver I have not hand coded a site since!

    Mac only though so no good if you are a Windows user..

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to masontech For This Useful Post:

    Potsie (23 March 2008)

  5. #4
    JackTenSuited is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    March 2004
    Posts
    1,014
    Thanks
    23
    Thanked 334 Times in 207 Posts

    Default

    I use drupal for one of my sites, It certainly takes some getting used to especially if you aren't used to CMS. However there are a lot of plugins available and loads of support forums if you ever get stuck and once you are used to how it works it becomes a breeze.

  6. #5
    thepokerkeep's Avatar
    thepokerkeep is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    October 2007
    Location
    London Canada
    Posts
    2,886
    Blog Entries
    2
    Thanks
    1,004
    Thanked 1,213 Times in 799 Posts

    Default

    I host my site on Go Daddy/Website Tonight. They have a good (simple) point and click css system that even a rookie like me can work with. I just use basic html coding within the editor.

    The cost is reasonable and I have virtually unlimited page and bandwidth capabilities.

    The network is fast and I haven't experienced any noticeable down time in over a year.
    Terry - The Pokerkeep
    President / CEO - Gambling Affiliates Union

    Casino Affiliate Programs
    Affiliate Resources
    Gambling Affiliate Program Blacklist

    Email: admin @ thepokerkeep.com



  7. #6
    andy.l is offline New Member
    Join Date
    February 2008
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Cms

    My site has been html since inception, but right now I am considering switching over to a good SEO supporting CMS. Any suggestions would be very much appreciated.

  8. #7
    Nandakishore's Avatar
    Nandakishore is offline In Memorium, 1935-2014
    Join Date
    December 2006
    Location
    In Germany near Munich
    Posts
    2,104
    Blog Entries
    5
    Thanks
    931
    Thanked 496 Times in 367 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by andy.l View Post
    My site has been html since inception, but right now I am considering switching over to a good SEO supporting CMS. Any suggestions would be very much appreciated.
    I use the open source tool: Typo3 (http://typo3.org/). It is a powerful CMS. But you have to learn certain basics to use it properly. You get lots of functions as extensions and plug-ins, but very often the documentation is missing. As for SEO, it is very easy to include keywords and descriptions on each page.

    Nandakishore
    Online Casino Newsroom

  9. #8
    aksana's Avatar
    aksana is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    July 2006
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    2,361
    Blog Entries
    3
    Thanks
    437
    Thanked 261 Times in 196 Posts

    Default

    On my main site I use my own CMS + Wordpress, but I recently found another good CMS Joomla, and I'm going to use it on my other sites.

  10. #9
    andy.l is offline New Member
    Join Date
    February 2008
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks for the tips. I will check these CMS's out.
    Do you know if they allow you to use custom URLs?

    Andy

  11. #10
    Nandakishore's Avatar
    Nandakishore is offline In Memorium, 1935-2014
    Join Date
    December 2006
    Location
    In Germany near Munich
    Posts
    2,104
    Blog Entries
    5
    Thanks
    931
    Thanked 496 Times in 367 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by andy.l View Post
    Thanks for the tips. I will check these CMS's out.
    Do you know if they allow you to use custom URLs?

    Andy
    In Typo3 you can use the socalled real URLs like http://www.online-casino-newsroom.co...ne_casino.html

    Nandakishore
    Online Casino Newsroom

  12. #11
    aksana's Avatar
    aksana is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    July 2006
    Location
    Europe
    Posts
    2,361
    Blog Entries
    3
    Thanks
    437
    Thanked 261 Times in 196 Posts

    Default

    Joomla has a lot of extensions, which allow you to use SEO friendly links, your custom links and etc.

  13. #12
    GamblingAtlas's Avatar
    GamblingAtlas is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    March 2003
    Posts
    1,214
    Thanks
    42
    Thanked 30 Times in 27 Posts

    Default

    Wordpress does allow custom file names too.

  14. #13
    ck8795 is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    March 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    1,005
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts

    Default

    Yup WP is great and if your unsure take a look at the links in my sig, check the code,,paid themes will usually validate but I mucked a few things up. Anyway all my pages are structured properly and I have all my sites on it now

  15. #14
    pokerstartonlin's Avatar
    pokerstartonlin is offline Public Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    I'm using Joomla at this moment for my site and it works great I thinks. Has a lott of extensions and is easy to work with.

  16. #15
    thisisvegas is offline Former Member
    Join Date
    February 2008
    Posts
    78
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 36 Times in 17 Posts

    Default

    I like Joomla and I am starting to see/notice more sites that use joomla although sometimes it can be hard to tell.

  17. #16
    Doolally's Avatar
    Doolally is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    February 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    4,584
    Thanks
    490
    Thanked 731 Times in 572 Posts

    Default

    I've a couple of sites that use Drupal. It's a little difficult to start with but after you get used to it, is fairly straightforward. It does have some limitations though. I'm currently trying to setup a Joomla site but I'm finding it very strange, possibly due to the fact I've been using Drupal and they both work differently.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •