View Poll Results: Do you use sitemaps?

Voters
29. You may not vote on this poll
  • I don't use sitemaps on any of my sites.

    1 3.45%
  • I don't currently use any sitemaps, but I plan to in the future.

    2 6.90%
  • I use sitemaps on some of my sites.

    9 31.03%
  • I use sitemaps on all of my sites.

    17 58.62%
Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    MichaelCorfman's Avatar
    MichaelCorfman is offline GPWA Executive Director
    Join Date
    June 2004
    Location
    Newton, MA
    Posts
    4,083
    Thanks
    807
    Thanked 5,153 Times in 1,672 Posts

    Question Do you use sitemaps?

    In November 2006 Google, Yahoo! and Microsoft announced support for Sitemaps version 0.90. Sitemaps provides a free and easy way for webmasters to notify search engines about their websites and be indexed more comprehensively and efficiently. Information about the sitemaps standard can be found at www.sitemaps.org.

    Sitemaps are frequently mentioned in our forum, so I thought it would be interesting to ask how many webmasters actually use them for their websites for this week's poll.

    Please let us know how you generate your sitemaps, and your thoughts about them.

    Michael
    GPWA Executive Director, Casino City CEO, Friend to the Village Idiot

    Resources for Affiliates: iGamingDirectory.com, iGamingAffiliatePrograms.com, GamingMeets.com

  2. #2
    Join Date
    March 2006
    Location
    Costa Rica
    Posts
    2,092
    Thanks
    140
    Thanked 171 Times in 119 Posts

    Default

    I use sitemaps on all my sites. It's easy to do using www.sitemapdoc.com . This site is free and crawls your site and generates a sitemap automatically. Since it's so easy to do, I figured that the potential advantage is worth my time.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to LiveCasinoPartners For This Useful Post:

    thepokerkeep (26 March 2008)

  4. #3
    MrKay is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    England
    Posts
    223
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 43 Times in 33 Posts

    Default

    Its a very similar situation for me, I use http://www.xml-sitemaps.com/ to do the initial sitemap and then manually add pages to the sitemap as I make them.
    MrKay
    ------------------------

  5. #4
    Chips's Avatar
    Chips is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    October 2007
    Location
    God's Country
    Posts
    3,618
    Thanks
    1,039
    Thanked 1,201 Times in 885 Posts

    Default

    I just learned about and have used sitemaps for my site that I can generate it for, I have one freebee from site microsoft that I have no ftp access to so I cannot place it. I am using sitemapbuilder.net for now but am going to try some others as it is giving me fits with missed pages.

    Side note: There are some great threads here in the private section of different generators to use. Another huge thanks to my fellow members!
    --
    "People who are unable to motivate themselves must be content with mediocrity." ~Andrew Carnegie~

  6. #5
    Gamblingdungeon's Avatar
    Gamblingdungeon is offline Public Member
    Join Date
    February 2007
    Location
    Durban, South Africa
    Posts
    117
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks
    9
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Default I use sitemaps

    I used Sitemaps on all my blogs (Wordpress Blogs). There is an addon, that generates the sitemap and pings the search engines with your sitemap ! It helps get the blog into the search engines quickly.

  7. #6
    Doolally's Avatar
    Doolally is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    February 2003
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    4,577
    Thanks
    475
    Thanked 728 Times in 570 Posts

    Default

    I use sitemaps on all of my sites. Generally I add to the XML Sitemap file by hand as I add pages.

  8. #7
    Nandakishore's Avatar
    Nandakishore is offline In Memorium, 1935-2014
    Join Date
    December 2006
    Location
    In Germany near Munich
    Posts
    2,104
    Blog Entries
    5
    Thanks
    931
    Thanked 496 Times in 367 Posts

    Default

    We use typo3 CMS which has a plug-in for creating sitemaps.

    _______________________________

    Nandakishore
    Online Casino Newsroom
    Facebook
    APCW Interactive
    Link exchange welcome. PM me.

  9. #8
    Ziggy is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    March 2005
    Posts
    944
    Thanks
    102
    Thanked 27 Times in 26 Posts

    Default

    Myabe I'm obessesive, but I actually use 3:

    1) An XML sitemaps for the big 3 search engines that have agreed on their format use
    2) A .txt sitemap just in case a robot is clueless about the above
    3) A visitors sitemap, which is part of my navigation, in case visitors want to just jump through a single page to see what the entire site contains. (Some do use it).

    So, after much consideration, I voted yes I do.

  10. #9
    matted's Avatar
    matted is offline Public Member
    Join Date
    June 2004
    Location
    Durham, NC
    Posts
    2,685
    Thanks
    118
    Thanked 328 Times in 222 Posts

    Default

    No reason not to use a sitemap!
    Owner, Cognitive Powers, Inc.
    Soon to be ex-webmaster
    Facebook, Twitter, and Linked In

  11. #10
    Nandakishore's Avatar
    Nandakishore is offline In Memorium, 1935-2014
    Join Date
    December 2006
    Location
    In Germany near Munich
    Posts
    2,104
    Blog Entries
    5
    Thanks
    931
    Thanked 496 Times in 367 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ziggy View Post
    Myabe I'm obessesive, but I actually use 3:
    We also use two: one for the visitors and one for the search engines.

    _______________________________

    Nandakishore
    Online Casino Newsroom
    Facebook
    APCW Interactive
    Link exchange welcome. PM me.

  12. #11
    AussieDave's Avatar
    AussieDave is offline Public Member
    Join Date
    November 2005
    Location
    from the land downunder
    Posts
    3,785
    Blog Entries
    1
    Thanks
    1,473
    Thanked 1,657 Times in 950 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ziggy View Post

    1) An XML sitemaps for the big 3 search engines that have agreed on their format use
    2) A .txt sitemap just in case a robot is clueless about the above
    3) A visitors sitemap, which is part of my navigation, in case visitors want to just jump through a single page to see what the entire site contains. (Some do use it).
    I use all of the above, except the sitemap.txt. I figure that the bots that follow my robot.txt crawl both xml and html sitemaps.

    The SE's that don't follow my robot.txt also ignore my xml sitemap and have never grabbed a sitemap.txt before, so I don't bother adding it.



    Cheers



    Dave
    ---
    Do the right thing, even when no one is looking. It's called integrity.
    ---

    igaming affiliates rights - fairness for all iGaming affiliates

  13. #12
    ioc's Avatar
    ioc
    ioc is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    November 2007
    Posts
    50
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I use sitemap.xml html, and text url for google and yahoo. sitemap builder creats sitemap easily. All my gambling sites have sitemap.

  14. #13
    cat's Avatar
    cat
    cat is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    June 2007
    Posts
    328
    Blog Entries
    5
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 21 Times in 17 Posts

    Default

    I just found

    http://www.sitemapwriter.com/notify.php

    when searching for how to submit a msn site map.

    It submits your site map to all major search engines in one step.

    It seems like no webmaster account like in yahoo or google is needed for submitting a sitemap to msn, is it?

  15. #14
    penny-slot-machines is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    October 2007
    Location
    London
    Posts
    288
    Thanks
    81
    Thanked 65 Times in 55 Posts

    Default

    It seemed to make a huge difference to my traffic when I put an xml sitemap in. I guess that's just because google indexed the pages better

    Did anyone else notice an impact on traffic when they put the xml sitemap up and submitted it to google webmaster tools?
    .

  16. #15
    masontech's Avatar
    masontech is offline Private Member
    Join Date
    October 2007
    Location
    Leeds, UK
    Posts
    334
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 40 Times in 39 Posts

    Default

    I use sitemaps for everything. I always ensure to submit them via Google WebMaster Tools.

    The tool I use to do my gambling site is RapidWeaver. I use the sitemap plugin from LogHound for this.

    For my other sites, I use the Google Sitemap Automator from Rage Software.

    Both great apps, but Mac only.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •